Latin 2

Latin is the language of the Church; as such it is an integral part of every Catholic's heritage. This course in Latin will give a comprehensive introduction to Latin grammar. Students will complete the remainder of Henle First Year Latin and Henle Second Year Latin.

Course Description

By diligent work in this course, the student will obtain a sound foundation of Latin vocabulary (5 words memorized per day is ideal); an in-depth grasp of Latin grammar and syntax; facility in Latin pronunciation; an expanded English vocabulary, by understanding the meaning of Latin derivatives; and a reinforced grasp of English grammar through the study of Latin grammar.

Course Expectations

Students taking this course for Kolbe Core (OK) credit are expected to complete daily assignments, participate in class, and complete periodic exams and quizzes as assigned by their instructor. All requirements are assigned and graded by the instructor.

Course Texts
  • Henle First Year Latin
  • Henle Second Year Latin
  • Henle Latin Grammar
  • Latin Grammar Card

order-books-button.png

Course Details:

 

Section Number

WCF-10LTN2-1

WCF-10LTN2-2

Instructor

Mr. Almanzar

Mr. Almanzar

Grades (Typical)

9 - 12 (10th)

Live Class Meets

2x per week

1 hr., 5 min. each time

Days

Monday & Wednesday

Tuesday & Thursday

Class Period

1

4

Time

7:30 AM - 8:35 AM (Pacific)

10:30 AM -11:35 AM (Eastern)

12:00 PM - 1:05 PM (Pacific)

3:00 PM - 4:05 PM (Eastern)

Tuition

$719

Credits (Type)

10 (Foreign Language)

Transcript Designation

OK

Prequisites

Latin 1

or

Latin Placement Exam